Berlin · Germany · TOP 10

TOP 10 THINGS TO DO IN BERLIN

picmonkey-collage

Berlin is one of those cities where you can find something special in every corner. This is my TOP 10, I hope you enjoy it.

 

1. Look at the street art – East Side Gallery and more

East Side Gallery is a must for those of you who are intending on visiting this city. A kilometer Wall full of inspirational graffiti.

If you just stroll around Berlin I assure you will find more and more.

 

2. Take some cash to a Flea Market (or any market for that matter)

While in Berlin I found myself in the Mauerpark Flea Market and I loved it. It’s a huge market where you can buy antiques, try new things or even new food (yes, you can also have lunch here!). When you leave the market there’s this park where there are lots of street artists which combined make a great enviroment.

I loved Berlin for the unexpected things I found there. Art markets, book markets, live music everywhere. Just MAGICAL!

 

3. Learn some History

Every country has its History and plays its role in the World History. Germany is no exception (as everyone should know).

I think it is good for people to include things like the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe and Berlin Wall Memorial in their trip because it is a heavy part of what Berlin is all about.

 

4. Admire the amazing architecture

The Berliner Dom in the Museum Island, the Rathaus and the Riechstag Building were my favourites, but of course there are plenty.

 

5. See Berlin in miniature

I am not a museum girl (don’t mean to sound dumb, I’m just not) so this was the only museum of thousands that I visited in Berlin. I highly recommend it. It’s amazing how much detail and work it envolves. The LOXX Miniature World is at Alexanderplatz which is good because…..

 

6. Wander around Alexanderplatz and go to the top of the Fernsehturm

Just like I told you before Berlin is an unexpected place. I went to Alexanderplatz in the afternoon and it was great as you can see, but I decided to go to the top of the Fernsehturm by nightfall. My surprise when I arrived: Oktoberfest in Berlin! WHAT!!

 

7. Take a walk from the Pariser Platz to Siegessäule

Take a walk and make it in a way so that you can see as much as possible. Brandenburg Tor, Reichstag Building, Tiergarten, German Chancellery, Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Enjoy yourself and take your time.

 

8.Visit Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church (and the square)

This church is so beautiful. It has two parts, one which explains its History and the other is the church itself with marvelous blue mosaics all around it.

The square in which its placed is also amazing to shop.

 

9. Try the FOOD

You just have to.

 

10. Take a day trip to Potsdam

Visit the town and don’t miss Sanssouci Palace and its gardens which are often told to be rivals with Versailles. Do you know the difference between Versailles and Sanssouci? Sanssouci is completely free (there are more diferences, I know. Just trying to make a point.) which is AWESOME.

 

I hope you enjoy your visit to Berlin as much as I enjoyed mine. Go with an open mind and let yourself be surprised by the magic of the city,

Rita from the Sparkly Notebook

Leave a comment